Learn a new language for FREE! Just register with your Parchment Community Library card.
This service is available to in-district residents with 6-digit library cards. If you have an older library card, you may obtain a replacement free of charge.
WORLD BOOK WEB
Free databases for students and adults
We are happy to offer three new databases from World Book - World Book Online for Kids (for elementary and middle high school students); World Book Info Finder (for high school students and adults) and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (for Spanish-speaking students).
These resources offer the same authoritative information as the World Book Encyclopedia and so much more - videos, interactive features, biographies, games - World Book Web is a great one-stop resource for explorers of any age.
Click HERE to go to World Book Web, or click the icon above.
If you are accessing this site from a location outside the library, you will be asked for your six-digit library card number. If you don't have a six-digit library card number, stop in the library and we'll give you a new card at no cost.
Call us at 343-7747 if you have any difficulty accessing these databases.
MEL (Michigan E-Library)
The Michigan eLibrary (MeL)is an anywhere, anytime library for Michigan. MeL resources, available via the MeL Gateway. include the following:
MelCat - a statewide catalog, interlibrary loan, and delivery service.
MeL Databases - commercial databases purchased by the Library of Michigan for all Michigan residents. You may log on at your school or library, or you may log on at home using any Michigan drivers license number. Click either the "log on in your library or school" or the "log on at home or work" link. Click here to see a video of what the MeL Databases are about and how to use them!
MeL Michigana - a growing selection of digitized resources including manuscripts, realia, and other objects. MeL Internet - a collection of Internet links organized by subject and selected by librarians who are experts in their topic areas.
MeL is one of the best-kept secrets in Michigan -- help us spread the word about this wonderful resource!
Through MELCAT (Michigan E-Library Catalog), patrons can request materials from other libraries that are not available at the Parchment Community Library. MelCat allows users access to most libraries in the state, including millions of books, CDs, DVDs and other materials.
You must be a resident of the Parchment Community Library District in order to place interloan requests via MelCat. You must pick up and return your MelCat items at this library.
For help searching Melcat http://www.mel.org/MeL--HelpPage.php or call the Library at 343-7747. If you are unable to locate the title you need or do not have access to a computer to order books through MEL, please contact us at 343-7747. In the case of newly released titles, we may be able to purchase the title to add to the Library's collection.
The Michigan E-Library offers 45 commercial databases purchased by the Library of Michigan for all Michigan residents. You may log on at your school or library, or you may log on at home using any Michigan driver license number. Click the "log on in your library or school" or the "log on at home or work" links.
You'll find auto repair manuals, full-text books, newspapers and magazines, health information, educational databases and more -- and it's FREE!